Learn About your Woods and Options

Public or Service Foresters are trained foresters that work for public agencies such as Soil & Water Conservation Districts (SWCD), the Department of Natural Resources (DNR), or US Forest Service. Some of these foresters specialize in private lands and are available to help you better understand your land and your options as a woodland owner. Public foresters are often available for site visits for you to learn more about your woods and what some of your options are for projects, plans, cost-share programs, and tax incentive enrollments. Often these foresters may not be able to carry out a project or write a stewardship plan for you, so you may also need to work with a private consulting forester. Consulting foresters are privately contracted to help carry out projects and write plans for your woods. They are often able to assist with a wider array of projects, such as timber harvests, invasive species removal or habitat improvement projects.

Minnesota

Paul Swanson

Pine County SWCD

Counties: Pine

(320) 216-4245
paul.swanson@co.pine.mn.us

130 Oriole Street East

Sandstone, MN 55072

Kelly Smith

Carlton County SWCD

Counties: Carlton

(218) 384-3891

kelly.smith@carltonswcd.org

808 3rd Street
Carlton, MN 55718

Kyle Fredrickson

Aitkin County SWCD

Counties: Aitkin

(218) 927-7285

kfred.aitkinswcd@gmail.com

307 2nd St. NW #216

Aitkin, MN 56431

Jeff Wilder

MN DNR Forestry

Counties: Pine, Chisago, Isanti, Anoka, Washington

(763) 284-7205 
jeff.wilder@state.mn.us
800 Oak Savanna Lane 
Cambridge, MN, 55008

Tony Miller

MN DNR Forestry

Counties: Kanabec, Mille Lacs

(320) 679-3683
Tony.Miller@state.mn.us
460 W Maple
Mora, MN 55051

Thor Pakosz

MN DNR Forestry

Counties: Carlton

(218) 723-4791
Thor.Pakosz@state.mn.us
4805 Rice Lake Road
Duluth, MN 55803

Troy Holcomb

MN DNR Forestry

Counties: Aitkin

(218) 429-3025 
troy.holcomb@state.mn.us

1200 Minnesota Ave S
Aitkin, MN 56431

Wisconsin

Andrew Wilcox

WI DNR Forestry

Counties: Bayfield,Douglas

Area Served: Highland, East

Orienta, Oulu, Tripp, Hughes, Iron River, Delta, barnes, Drummond, Cable, Grandview, Namakagon

Gordon, Wascott

(715) 308-1025

andrew.wilcox@wisconsin.gov

52820 State Highway 27

Barnes, WI 54873

Sarah Kendell

WI DNR Forestry

Counties: Douglas

Area Served: Dairyland, Gordon, Wascott, Solon Springs, Bennett

(715) 816-4487 

sarah.kendell@wisconsin.gov

9547 S. Hwy Y

Gordon, WI 54838

WI DNR Forestry

Counties: Douglas

Area Served: Lakeside, Cloverland, Brule, Maple, Hawthorne, Bennett

(715) 296-0641
zachary.neitzel@wisconsin.gov

6250 S. Ranger Road

Brule, WI 54820

Zachary Neitzel

David Todus

WI DNR Forestry

Counties: Sawyer

Area Served: Bass Lake, Couderay, Edgewater, Hayward, Hunter, Round Lake, Sand Lake, Spinder Lake, Stone Lake

(715) 577-1806

david.todus@wisconsin.gov

10220 State Highway 27 South

Hayward, WI 54843

Renae Essenmacher

WI DNR Forestry

Counties: Washburn

Area Served: Entire County

(715) 410-8371
renae.essenmacher@wisconsin.gov

810 W Maple 

Spooner, WI 54801

Richard Nesslar

WI DNR Forestry

Counties: Burnett, Polk

Area Served: Anderson, Daniels, Grantsburg, Trade Lake, West Marshland, Wood River, Laketown, Luck, Sterling, West Sweden

(715) 410-8322

richard.nesslar@wisconsin.gov

325 Hwy 70

Grantsburg, WI 54840

Luke Kruegar

WI DNR Forestry

Counties: Burnett, Polk

Area Served: Blaine, Dewey, Jackson, Lafollette, Lincoln, Meenon, Oakland, Roosevelt, Rusk, Sand Lake ,Scott, Siren, Swiss, Union, Webb Lake, Bone Lake, Clam Falls, Lorain, Mckinley

(715) 701-3586

luke.krueger@wisconsin.gov

26387 Lakeland Ave S

Webster, WI 54893

Paul Heimstead

WI DNR Forestry

County: Polk

Area Served: Alden, Apple River, Balsam Lake, Beaver, Black Brook, Clayton, Clear Lake, Eureka, Farmington, Garfield, Georgetown, Johnstown, Lincoln, Milltown, Osceola, St. Croix Falls 

(715) 410-8316
paul.heimstead@wisconsin.gov

100 Polk Plaza, Suite 40

Balsam Lake, WI 54810

Janette Cain

WI DNR Forestry

Counties: Barron

Area Served: Entire County

(715) 637-6865

janette.cain@wisconsin.gov
127 S. 4th Street
Barron, WI 54812

WI DNR Forestry

Counties: St. Croix

Area Served: Entire County

(715) 684-2914

andrew.ciurro@wisconsin.gov

890 Spruce St. 

Baldwin, WI 54002

Andrew Ciurro

Justin Kania

WI DNR Forestry

Counties: Pierce

(715) 210-2215
justin.kania@wisconsin.gov
130 N. Chestnut St., PO Box 428

Ellsworth, WI 54011

Additional Resources to Learn about your Woods

  • Facebook

715-483-7053

My St. Croix Woods
230 S. Washington St., Unit 1
St. Croix Falls, WI 54024

Website @2020 by My St. Croix Woods. My St. Croix Woods is an equal opportunity employer.

Photo Credit: Majority of the photos are provided by Craig Blacklock